Make your own free website on


Guru Nanak (1469 - 1538) wanted to bring about a kind of synthesis of the Hindu and Muslim faiths. A Hindu by birth, he preached against caste, idolatry and asceticism. He also preached love and equality of man and the approach to a personal God by the practice of virtue, humility and prayer. His followers came to be known as Sikh (disciples). The holy tents of the Sikhism are to be found in the Guru Granth Saheb, written in Gurumukhi. Harimandir, or the Golden Temple, at Amritsar, is the most sacred shrine of the Sikhs. Inside the temple there is a sacred ceremonial pool named Amrit-sar or the Pool of Nectar.

Nanak's teaching in the form of verses was collected in the Adi-granth. Nanak wanted his followers to eat together in common kitchen - Langar, no matter what his caste. He grouped his followers together, and on his deathbed, appointed a Guru to be their leader. They called themselves the Khalsa. In the 17th Century, angered by the intolerance and bigotry of Aurangzeb (The last Mughal emperor), the Sikhs under their tenth Guru, Guru Govind Singh, became a religious military commonwealth. It was then the Sikh distinguished themselves from other people by the five characteristics which are commonly called the five K's - Kesha (hair), Kangha (comb), Kada (bracelet), Kirpan (dagger) and Kachha (underwear). Guru Govind Singh also named the Granth Saheb as the everlasting Guru of the Sikhs.

Ten Sikh Gurus are:


Guru Nanak
Guru Angad
Guru Amardas
Guru Ramdas
Guru Arjun
Guru Hargovind
Guru Harrai
Guru Harkishan
Guru Teghbahadur
Guru Govind.

Founded Sikhism
Invented Gurumukhi script.
Founded the city Amritsar on a land donated by Akbar
Compiled Guru Granth Saheb and Built Harimandir.
Killed by Auragzeb - Mughal Emperor.
Created strong Sikh military group.